Start again

Sava River Basin

Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia and Montenegro

The Sava River Basin is a major catchment of the South-Eastern Europe covering the total area of approximately 97,700 km2. The Framework Agreement on the Sava River Basin (FASRB) is the basis for transboundary cooperation for sustainable development of the region and its implementation is coordinated by the International Sava River Basin Commission (ISRBC).

The joint Flood Risk Management Plan (FRMP) is currently in the first cycle of planning and has the aim of decrease of harmful consequences of floods on cultural-historical and religious heritage, among all other flood receptors, including the following UNESCO designated sites: Mehmed Paša Sokolović Bridge in Višegrad (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Plitvice Lakes National Park (Croatia), Stećci Medieval Tombstones Graveyards in Žabljak-Plužine (Montenegro) and in Perućac-Rastište-Hrta (Serbia), as well as Prehistoric pile dwellings around the Alps in Ig (Slovenia).

Discover more

Sava Early Recovery Roadmap

Discover more

Sava Organigraphs

Discover more

Sava River Basin blueprints